The Douglas decision is the Full Federal Court's judgment in Commissioner of Taxation v Douglas [2020] FCAFC 220, delivered on 4 December 2020. The Court held that invalidity pensions paid under the Defence Force Retirement and Death Benefits (DFRDB) scheme and the Military Superannuation and Benefits Scheme (MSBS) are not superannuation income streams for tax purposes if they started on or after 20 September 2007. Those payments are taxed as superannuation lump sums instead, even though they are paid fortnightly.

The three test cases
The Commissioner of Taxation appealed three Administrative Appeals Tribunal decisions that had gone in the veterans' favour. Justices Griffiths, Davies and Thawley heard the appeals together, and the Commissioner treated them as test cases. Each veteran had objected to his tax assessments, lost the objection and then won in the Tribunal.
- Mr Douglas was a DFRDB member who left the ADF on administrative grounds. On 4 November 2014 the Commonwealth Superannuation Corporation (CSC) decided he should have been retired on medical grounds and classified him as Class A invalidity from 2 September 2002. He received a lump sum of arrears in December 2014 and invalidity pay after that.
- Mr Walker was an MSBS member classified as Class A invalidity from 13 November 2009.
- Mr Burns was an MSBS member first classified as Class A in 1994. His pension was cancelled for a period, became payable again when he was classified as Class B from 14 October 2003, and he was reclassified as Class A in August 2008.
Why the tax label mattered
A superannuation benefit is taxed either as a superannuation income stream benefit or as a superannuation lump sum. The veterans argued their invalidity benefits were lump sums. The Court noted this mattered to them because the tax concession for a lump sum is greater. The ATO explains one reason: if CSC has classified the benefit as a disability superannuation benefit and the member was discharged before their ADF retirement age, part of each lump sum payment is tax-free, and the longer the time to retirement age, the bigger that part.
What the Full Federal Court decided
The Court worked through 14 agreed issues. The outcome turned on four points.
- The veterans' main argument failed. The Court accepted the Commissioner's view that the tax regulations did specify which superannuation benefits count as income stream benefits.
- The veterans won on the pension standards. To be a superannuation income stream, the pension had to meet standards in the Superannuation Industry (Supervision) Regulations, including being paid at least annually for the member's lifetime and in amounts fixed by the rules. Because a member's invalidity class can be reviewed, and the pension reduced or cancelled, the MSBS and DFRDB rules did not guarantee either. So the payments were not a superannuation income stream under that test.
- Pensions that started before 20 September 2007 are different. The regulations separately treat an income stream that began before that date as a superannuation income stream. Mr Burns's pension had run continuously since 2003, moving between Class A and Class B without being cancelled and restarted, so it stayed an income stream.
- For Mr Douglas, his entitlement did not exist until CSC's decision on 4 November 2014. The DFRDB Act treats a member like him as retired on invalidity grounds from the earlier date, but the Court held that this deeming rule does not reach into tax law. His pension therefore started after 20 September 2007.
The Court dismissed the Commissioner's appeals in the Douglas and Walker matters. It allowed the appeal in the Burns matter and set aside the Tribunal's decision for him. It made no order for costs because the cases were run as test cases.

What the ATO did after the judgment
The ATO published a decision impact statement on 11 February 2021. It said no appeals were on foot and that the Commissioner accepted it was open to the Court to find that the MSBS and DFRDB rules did not meet the pension standards. The ATO's position from then on was:
- MSBS and DFRDB invalidity benefits from pensions that started on or after 20 September 2007 are superannuation lump sums.
- Those from pensions that started before 20 September 2007 are superannuation income stream benefits.
The ATO updated its guidance. CSC now treats affected payments as superannuation lump sums, and the ATO invites affected veterans to ask for a review of tax returns for earlier years. The ATO says that as a general rule people are financially better off after a review, especially if CSC has classified their benefit as a disability superannuation benefit, but that the result depends on each person's circumstances.
Read the ATO's decision impact statement
What Parliament changed afterwards
DVA says the Court's reading was inconsistent with the intended tax treatment of pensions from superannuation schemes, and the fix for people outside the ADF schemes came in June 2023. Schedule 9 of the Treasury Laws Amendment (2022 Measures No. 4) Act 2023, titled "Reversing the Douglas decision", commenced on 24 June 2023. It changed the tax regulations so that other defined benefit pensions starting on or after 20 September 2007 count as superannuation income streams. DFRDB invalidity pay, MSBS invalidity pensions and reversionary pensions paid after an affected member's death were left out of that change, so they keep the lump sum treatment.
The same Schedule created the veterans' superannuation (invalidity pension) tax offset, which applies from the 2007–08 income year. It stops an affected person paying more tax than they would have if the payments were still treated as an income stream. The ATO calculates it when you lodge your return; you don't apply for it.
In May 2024 a separate law changed the way these pensions are counted for means-tested payments such as the service pension. DVA says the aim was to keep the income test result the same as before Douglas while veterans keep the tax benefit.
Who is affected today, the tax offset and what to check on your own records are covered in what the Douglas decision means for invalidity pension recipients.
What the decision does not cover
The judgment is about DFRDB and MSBS invalidity benefits only. It does not change the tax treatment of DVA compensation payments, DFRDB or MSBS retirement pensions, or pensions from other superannuation schemes. The ATO says DVA payments that are taxable are taxed in the same way as employment income, and one-off CSC payments are taxed as superannuation lump sums.
If you have questions about your own pension record, contact CSC. For your tax assessments, contact the ATO or a registered tax agent. Read about DFRDB and MSBS invalidity pensions.
